You’re In A Good Place.

Rockingham County, North Carolina is nestled in the gently rising foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the metropolitan centers of Greensboro, Winston-Salem, Raleigh, Durham, and Charlotte. This area has abundant land and water making it a good place to live, work and play.

Here, you will find rural, small-town charm coupled with close proximity to big-city amenities in North Carolina’s Northern Piedmont Triad region.

Located just south of the Virginia border, Rockingham County is just a one-hour drive to the mountains in the west or a three-hour drive to N.C.’s outstanding beaches in the east.

Rockingham County, North Carolina is made up of six municipalities:

Rockingham County, NC was founded in 1785 and is named after Charles Watson-Wentworth, second Marques of Rockingham in Britain. Wentworth gained popularity in America for securing repeal of the Stamp Act and for his efforts to end the Revolutionary War.

Quick Facts:

  • County Size: 572 square miles
  • County Population:  91,101 (2019 census estimate)
  • County Workforce: 40,000 (approximate)
  • Tax Rate: $0.698 per $100 valuation
  • County Seat: Wentworth
  • Average Annual Rainfall: 46.94 in.
  • Average Annual Snow:  6.61 in.
  • Average Annual High Temperature:  69 F
  • Average Annual Low Temperature:  48 F

Chambers of Commerce
There are three Chambers of Commerce serving the business community in Rockingham County: