Citizens Economic Development

Citizens for Economic Development (CED) is a private, not-for-profit organization that provides funding for economic development projects that may be deemed beneficial to the citizens of Rockingham County. The CED exists to complement and lend support to the efforts of the Rockingham County Center for Economic Development, Small Business and Tourism, Chambers of Commerce and other development groups.

The mission of the CED is to focus substantial private sector financial resources and leadership on specific economic development projects to attract, retain and expand investments in order to expand economic investments in order to bolster economic growth and job opportunities in our community.

Members & Board
Meetings of the full membership are held once a year. The Board of Directors meets four times each year.

Anyone is welcome to be a member of CED. If you are willing to make a personal or corporate contribution to the greater good of our community, we would appreciate your assistance.

CED Board Members

Executive Board

Grayson Whitt, chairman
First National Bank

Bill Lester, 1st vice chair
LKC Engineering, PLLC

Don Powell, 2nd vice chair
Powell and Associates

Pam Cundiff, secretary/treasurer
Travel Consultants

Dr. Mark Kinlaw, executive board representative
Rockingham Community College President

Leigh Cockram, executive board representative
Center for Economic Development, Small Business & Tourism Director

Board Members

Adam Carroll
Timmons Group

Bert Bennett
Bennett Family Farm

Bill Lester
LKC Engineering, PLLC

Cindy Farrand
Annie Penn Hospital

Don Powell
Powell and Associates

Harold Vaden
Business Owner

Jeff Garstka
Reidsville Director Economic Development

John Geib
Duke Energy

John Kolessar

Jonathan Jobe
HomeTrust Bank

Kevin Baughn
Madison Town Manager

Lessa Hopper
Mayodan Town Manager

Micky Silvers

Mike Dougherty
City of Eden Director of Economic Development

Raul Peralta
ECS Carolina, LLP

Ex-Officio Non-Voting Directors

George Murphy
Wentworth Town Administrator

Lori Armstrong
Stoneville Town Administrator

Pleas McMichael – Past Chair

Rodney Shotwell, Superintendent
Rockingham County Public Schools


Please contact our office for more information: 336.342.8138.